An “unrecognized” fraternity or sorority is one which chooses to exist “off campus” and does not follow college policies and regulations. In many cases, these organizations seem to operate like recognized organizations, but they are NOT affiliated with Rutgers. These organizations do not have any of the privileges recognized organizations have earned.

As a student, it is important to understand that if you choose to become a part of an unrecognized organization you will never be recognized by the university. If a student chooses to join an unregistered organization, the University cannot and will not support this choice.

The following unrecognized organizations may be operating in the New Brunswick area:

  • Alpha Omega Eta
  • Delta Kappa Epsilon
  • Gamma Sigma
  • Iota Sigma Beta
  • Kappa Zeta Psi
  • Lambda Psi Delta
  • Lambda Phi Epsilon
  • Lambda Tau Omega
  • Omega Delta Phi
  • Omega Epsilon Rho
  • Phi Delta Theta
  • Phi Iota Alpha
  • Psi Sigma Phi
  • Sigma Iota Alpha
  • Sigma Phi Epsilon
  • Swing Phi Swing
  • “18”