Group of MGC council

Multicultural Greek Council (MGC)

What is the Multicultural Greek Council (MGC)?

Founded in 2014, the Multicultural Greek Council (MGC) serves as the programming body for culturally based Greek-lettered sororities and fraternities at Rutgers University. The MGC’s purpose is to inspire culture, trust, support, understanding, and friendship among its members, the Greek community, and the university.


“I was interested in being in an MGC organization because I really appreciated how small and close-knit the sorority was. I felt that I could grow and learn more about my own culture and roots by being around people with similar backgrounds. This has truly benefited me as a college student and young professional because we live in a cross-cultural world and it feels good to be knowledgeable about other people’s practices and way of life.”
– Ashley George

“When I first entered college I never thought that I would ever join a sorority. As I went out to more and more Greek events and met more people, it started to interest me. While going to events, I fell in love with being able to experience many different cultures other then my own because of the diversity among MGC. I chose to join Delta Phi Omega because I wanted to experience a culture other than my own. Not only this, but I developed unbreakable bonds with my sisters that started before I became a member. Before I joined I saw how successful and ambitious the sisters are which was another important decision making factor for me. Delta Phi Omega has allowed me to step out of my comfort zone, has given me opportunities to hold leadership positions, and many more amazing opportunities. That is why I decided to become a member of Delta Phi Omega Sorority, Inc.”
– Amanda Elkhatib

The MGC Executive Board

Chapter officers are encouraged to reach out to the MGC Executive Board with questions, concerns and programming ideas. Contact for more information.

President  - Sohini Mistry, Lambda Tau Omega Sorority, Inc.

Vice President - Ricardo Aguirre, Lambda Sigma Upsilon Fraternity, Inc.

Secretary - Laura Moniz, Lambda Tau Omega Sorority, Inc.

Treasurer - Tharun Saravana, Iota Nu Delta Fraternity, Inc.

Public Relations Chair - Nihal Mooney, Delta Sigma Iota Fraternity, Inc.

Programming Chair  - Hannah Storch, Lambda Theta Alpha Sorority

RUSA Delegate - Mia Nazario, Lambda Tau Omega Sorority, Inc.